If you are currently pregnant and researching this pregnancy complication, I hope and pray that you have a good outcome. I also welcome you to read my story here:
I Had a Subchorionic Hematoma.

When I was diagnosed, the ER doctor explained this to me as holes in my placenta that were bleeding. These were the cause of my vaginal bleeding that landed me in the ER in the first place. I was told that a subchorionic hematoma is the biggest cause of first trimester bleeding, that it was very normal, and the outcome could go either way. I was not given any information outside of that. So the next days and months I went to the internet to find out what I was dealing with.

I found this explanation on whattoexpect.com:

Subchorionic bleeding is the accumulation of blood within the folds of the chorion (the outer fetal membrane, next to the placenta) or between the uterus and the placenta itself.

Many hematomas are discovered when vaginal bleeding is looked in to. That is exactly how mine was diagnosed during my visit to the ER. The hematomas can cause bleeding to go on for weeks, even months, while some women never even experience the bleeding.

In many cases, the hematomas will eventually dissolve on their own and the pregnancy will continue on normally. However, if you are experiencing this, you do need to be aware and prepared with the knowledge that there is a risk of miscarriage and even preterm labor. Some women will be told their hematoma has dissolved and then it reappears during the pregnancy or comes out during birth.

This is a common complication in pregnancy, however treatment is not standard and every doctor goes about them differently. Some may recommend moderate to intense bed rest and pelvic rest, while others will give the go ahead to continue your normal activities.

YOU need to be aware of how your body is handling the hematoma. If you bleed more when you’re active, take a step back as much as you can and ask for help when it’s needed. Rest when you can and continue to drink your water.

 

Leave a comment