Parent’s Magazine has just released their list of the Top 10 Children’s books for the year just in time for holiday gift ideas!

Hi! by Ethan Long

Hi! By Ethan Long

In this story about the ways animals and humans say hello, bouncy rhymes like “hoo” and “moo” and “chirp” and “slurp” made our toddler testers giggle. “The comic-like illustrations are just as much fun as the text,” says one mom of a 3-year-old. Birth to 3, $8

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $6.04.

Wolfie the Bunny

Wolfie the Bunny, by Ame Dyckman and Zachariah O’Hora

A zany premise (a family of bunnies adopts a baby wolf left at its doorstep) leads to suspense (repeated refrains of “He’s going to eat us all up,” from his bunny sister) and a surprise ending. “This fresh take on sibling rivalry is so much fun to read aloud,” says Ginny Collier, a children’s librarian in Atlanta. Ages 3 to 6.

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $12.88. 

 

 Counting Dogs

Counting Dogs, by Eric Barclay

The format won families over: Bound in a sturdy box, the book contains graduated pages and die-cut tabs. Turning each one reveals an adorable spotted dog encountering an increasing number of animals, such as three turtles, nine fish, and, finally, ten counting dogs that look just like him. Ages 1 to 4.

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $10.13.

Winnie

Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh, by Sally M. Walker and Jonathan D. Voss

“No way—Winnie is real?” exclaimed one 6-year-old reviewer after hearing this sweet-as-honey account about a Canadian soldier who brought his pet bear Winnie (short for Winnipeg) to be cared for at the London Zoo while he was in battle. Christopher Robin came to visit the zoo with his family, and the rest is history. Ages 4 to 8, $18

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $11.44.

The Day the Crayons Came Home 

The Day the Crayons Came Home, by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

The story is funnier than the creators’ original blockbuster, The Day the Crayons Quit. Each crayon sends Duncan, the main character, a postcard highlighting what’s happened since they walked out. From neon red: “Looks like I’m almost home. … Just crossing New Jersey by camel now! New Jersey has giant pyramids, right?” Ages 4 to 8, $19

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $11.56.

Ballet Cat The Totally Secret Secret

Ballet Cat: The Totally Secret Secret, by Bob Shea

Although the vocabulary is simple enough for early readers, the story of a cat and a pony doesn’t lack substance. “It helps children learn how they can express their desires without compromising a friendship,” says Lorie Bonapfel, children’s librarian at The Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County. Ages 4 to 6

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $9.18.

Journey to the Moon 

Journey to the Moon, by Andy Mansfield

Kids oohed and aahed over the pop-ups (especially the spirally moon landing), but parents got a kick out of the twist ending (let’s just say it’s extraterrestrial!).Ages 4 to 8, $13

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $11.40.

The Story of Diva and Flea

The Story of Diva and Flea, by Mo Willems and Tony DiTerlizzi

Fans of Willems’s Elephant & Piggie series will grow into this 80-page story about a streetwise cat and a tiny dog who explore Paris. Says one 8-year-old tester: “I liked the pencil illustrations.” Ages 6 to 9, $15

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $9.53.

 Roller Girl

Roller Girl, by Victoria Jamieson

A relatable main character, realistic dialogue, and expressive illustrations won over our tween reviewers. “Even though I can barely roller-skate, I felt like I was reading about me and a couple of my best friends,” says one 9-year-old. Ages 7+, $13

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $7.14.

 The Marvels

The Marvels, by Brian Selznick

Testers thrived on unraveling the mystery of how two seemingly stand-alone stories (one told entirely through nearly 400 pages of illustrations) are connected. Says children’s librarian Elizabeth Bird: “It will keep your kids guessing.” Ages 8+, $33

You can purchase this book on Amazon for $18.14.

*This post does contain affiliate links.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s