What makes a great dad?  Is a great dad hard working or a bit lazy?  Is he constantly stressed trying to make things perfect for his family or is he laid back, trusting everything to fall in place?  Does he spank his children when they get out of line, ground them, or give them that friendly “smack in the head” we see so often in our favorite TV shows?
     Personally, I believe a great dad has all of these traits and more.  While I am not one to smack my kids upside the head, they aren’t teenagers yet so I guess we’ll see when we get there 😉 …. but when it comes to work, I do what I can to make a successful living and yet I feel it’s best to chill out from time to time and take a day or two now and then where you do absolutely nothing productive.  These are the days where you play games with your kids, watch a movie with the family, or take naps and just lounge around all day.  Do I stress out when it comes to providing for the family?  Every caring parent does.  The trick here is to keep the wisdom in your mind that, so long as you don’t give up, everything’s going to be alright.  You’ll have bad times, and you’ll have good times.  One way or the other, you’re having memorable times.
     When it comes to my own dad, I honestly feel I’ve taken a lot of his parenting methods and traits and applied them to my own way of parenting.  My father, Pete, knew what he was doing, and though his decisions weren’t always the perfect ones, he made them trying to be the best father possible.  That is the one thing all fathers need to do.   The things you didn’t like that your father did, change up to fit your comfort zone a bit, but keep in mind that you wouldn’t be who you are today if it weren’t for your parents.
     Alright, it’s confession time.  I am one of those dads who see something happen in a TV show, one of those father/child life lessons, and I take it and apply it to my own life so long as I agree with it.  Off the top of my head, I can’t think of any examples but I can definitely assure you that I’ve taken ideas from TV and movies.
     So here’s the point to this blog.  Over at www.ManOfTheHouse.com, there’s a current contest/poll going on to decide who the “World’s Greatest TV Dad” is.   Looking at the “World’s Greatest TV Dad Contest”, I see some great choices such as Carl Winslow from Family Matters, Cliff Huxtable from the Cosby Show, Mike Brady from the Brady Bunch, and quite a few others.  It seems the contest has dwindled down to it’s last 8 TV dads, so you should head over now and cast a vote!  Some of the dad’s already eliminated are Paul Hennessy (8 Simple Rules), Homer Simpson (The Simpsons), Tim Taylor (Home Improvement), Danny Tanner (Full House), and Philip Banks (Fresh Prince of Bel-Air). amongst several others.
     My personal pick out of those who are left?  Red Foreman (That 70’s Show).  Why? Mostly because of the fact that I have always been a fan of the show, but also because I think it’s true.  Red may throw a few threats with his feet at his son Eric, but he has always kept his son and daughter’s interests in mind.  All of the neighborhood kids chose Red Foreman’s place as their hangout spot and Red even took in one of his son’s friends when they had nowhere to go.
     So what are you waiting for?  If you agree with me, go vote for Red Foreman!  If not, then go pick another TV dad still in the runnings!  May the best TV dad win!  Go now, vote here:  http://manofthehouse.com/worlds-greatest-tv-dad/contest

 

I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour campaign by Dad Central Consulting on behalf of P&G and received promotional items to thank me for taking the time to participate.

4 thoughts on “The World’s Greatest TV Dad

Leave a Reply

